Double Exposure

Thankfully my camera (a Canon 5D Mark III) has the capability for in-camera double exposures (because, honestly, I’m horrific at Photoshop, my other double exposure option).

This process involves taking a photograph and then taking another photograph over top of it. It adds elements of layering and depth but perhaps my favorite aspect is the mystery. The viewer is never quite sure exactly what he or she is seeing which pulls the viewer to dwell with and explore the image.

Naturally the subjects are as endless, as you can imagine, but I find myself particularly drawn to nature and light for this technique.

Main image taken with the new Lensbaby Double Glass II optic
(the layered image with the Lensbaby Edge 35 reverse freelensed).

I combined these two images to create the one below.

I am part of a group of photographers, Share Six, who blog 6 images on the 6th of each month with unique monthly themes. Next up is the talented and creative Jan of Wired to the Moon. Please click HERE for her interpretation of this month’s theme. Then follow around the circle for even more beauty and creativity. ❤

Join us for this month’s theme by posting your “Double Exposure” images on our Facebook page at Share Six and to our Instagram gallery by tagging #sharesix and #sharesix_doubleexposure. A new theme will be posted on April 6th.

I’m honored to be a Lensbaby Ambassador. Please ask any questions you might have and use my code wwillson for 10% off their website! (Not valid on new releases). Speaking of, Lensbaby just brought to the market an amazing new optic, the Double Glass II – check it out!

Would you like to learn more about creative photography techniques? I’m teaming up with Regina Boston of RMBPhotography for a unique in-person photography workshop in historic Harpers Ferry, WV. Spots are limited – grab yours today! CLICK HERE for all of the details!

4 thoughts on “Double Exposure

  1. Pingback: Share Six: March 2023: Double Exposure 23 | SHARE SIX

Leave a comment