Connection

A bit of vulnerability. A bit of risk. A bit of freedom. All these feelings combine in my creation of self-portraits. It’s a method by which I not only express my inner realities but also connect to my current external circumstances.

My hope is not only that these images are relatable, but that they also evoke emotion and wonder. For, as an artist, it is one of the highest compliments to know that our still image, captured in a fraction of a second, created feeling and connection in the hearts of viewers.

I would LOVE to hear which (if any) of these you connected with and why. We all have a story… ❤

For this series I used the natural light from one window on a rainy Friday afternoon. My 6 year old was sent home from school with pink eye so she was my “assistant” (and then hopped in the frame at the end). I used 3 different lenses as well as some smoke from a fog machine for some unique effects. ❤

I began with the Canon 24-70 2.8 and a bit of movement.

I’m so happy my hair is long again. Ahhhh…

2017-4-ShareSix-6604

Added a bit of fog2017-4-ShareSix-6613

Changed up the angles2017-4-ShareSix-6635

Changed up the lens to the Lensbaby Sweet 352017-4-ShareSix-6661

Again added movement (and fog!)2017-4-ShareSix-6683

And finally included my little assistant changing up the lens to the Lensbaby Velvet 56.2017-4-ShareSix-6699

I have joined a group of photographers, Share Six, who blog 6 images on the 6th of each month with unique monthly themes. Please click HERE for Katherine of Cobert Photography‘s interpretation of this months theme. Then, follow around the circle for even more beauty and creativity. ❤

Join us for this month’s theme by posting your Connection images on our Facebook page at Share Six  and to our Instagram gallery, by tagging #sharesix and #sharesix_connection. A new theme will come out on May 6th.

logo-for-website-black-border

5 thoughts on “Connection

  1. Pingback: Connection – Site Title

  2. These are great – I love that you stepped into the frame and I love the processing in the images. The fourth image down is my favorite simply because I love the lensbaby effect and I know how amazing you are with your lensbaby. I also love that you got one with your daughter in the frame with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

